Vastu Tips For Pictures And Paintings On The Wall

Published on by stampdutyregistration

Pictures and paintings can have profound effect on the atmosphere of the home and working environments, as they evoke what is called rasa in Indian philosophy. Rasa gives rise to a particular mental state or mood. The mental perceptions and feelings we have are said to be the reins that govern our physical lives.

There are in all nine rasas which cover the whole spectrum of human emotions, ranging from fear to excitability. The rasa that are deemed highly suitable for interiors are known as shringara, hasya and shanta, the seductive, the comic and the peaceful. A combination of images that are evocative of these three emotions are recommended for use in the home.

Images such as fruits, flowers and blossoming trees symbolize vitality and are best hung on east or north walls. Pictures denoting wealth and abundance, such as Lakshmi, the goddess of plenty, or gemstones and jewels, should be hung on the north wall. Landscapes depicting mountains should be hung on the south and west walls only, if hung on the north wall they will obstruct prosperity.

Landscapes containing water, such as pictures of lakes and rivers, should be kept on the north and east walls.

The pictures of carnivorous animals indicate a ruthless and a greedy attitude towards life and should therefore be avoided.

The eagle represents the most extreme of selfish natures and hence avoided. The animal pictures good to hang on walls are of horses, which are representation of strength and expansion,cows are symbols of peace and abundance, and elephants suggest strength and slow and steady success.

The pictures that depict battle fields, guns, weapons, barren landscape, thorny bare trees, pictures dark and gloomy in colour should be avoided on the Wall

Certain interiors cause particular rasa, or emotions.

1. Shingara is seductive, induce by beauty, ornamentation, and pleasing forms.
2. Hasya is comic and excitable.
3. Karuna is pathetic; it gives rise to the feelings of separation, sorrow and abandonment and is associated with the colour grey.
4. Roudra is the furious emotion, bringing anger and harshness.
5. Vira is heroic, bestowing feelings of nobility and prowess.
6. Bhayanaka is fearful, associated with the colour black.
7. Adbhuta is the feeling of amazement and is awe—inspiring.
8. Bibhatsa is the feeling of repulsion.
9. Sahanta is peaceful and meditative.

Published on Vastu

Comment on this post